Algeria is a North African country with a Mediterranean coastline and a Saharan desert interior. The country is a semi-presidential republic consisting of 48 provinces and 1,541 communes. A beguiling blend of cultures, landscapes and traditions, this vast chunk of land contains everything from tranquil fishing ports and vibrant cities to the unmatched drama of the Sahara Desert and Hoggar Mountains.